Photo Gallery : 2007 Reporting Awards
| HOME | CONTACT US | MISSION | COPYRIGHT | NPO Registration Number : 045-133-NPO| web design by DUMELANG MEDIA SERVICES |
The Executive President of the Southern African Institute of Government Auditors (SAIGA) addressed the congregation and put the Department of Education’s achievements in the proper perspective.
The Executive President of SAIGA stressed the importance of the PFMA and explained that the SAIGA Annual Public Sector Reporting Awards were aimed at heightening the public’s awareness of the constructive financial reforms that have taken place in the public sector.
The winning reports that were adjudicated best national department and overall winner of the 2007 SAIGA Annual Public Sector Reporting Awards.
From left to right the Deputy Minister of Education, Mr Enver Surty, the Minister of Education, Mrs Naledi Pandor and the Accounting Officer (Director-General) of the Department, Mr Duncan Hindle are listening attentively to the Executive President of SAIGA.
Three happy office bearers.
The Department of Education won three Awards: here the first Award (best national department) is received by the Minister of Education, Mrs Naledi Pandor. She hold a framed certificate and a glass trophy (to symbolise the aspect of transparency in financial reporting). Left in the picture is Mr Khudu Bantseke, SAIGA Council member and on the far right is MR George Gorekwang, SAIGA Council member. The Deputy Minister of Education, Mr Enver Surty.
The second Award was for the most consistent department over three years. The certificate is held by the Minister and the Accounting Officer (Director-General) of the Department, Mr Duncan Hindle. On the far right is Mr Lawrence Nevhutalu, SAIGA Council member.
The Overall winner’s Award was handed over by the Executive President of SAIGA, Prof Dieter Gloeck (far right). The Minister and Deputy Minister are both proud recipients.
The Minister, Deputy Minister and the Department of Education’s financial team that was responsible for preparing the winning report: Front row from left to right: Director-General Duncan Hindle, Minister Naledi Pandor  and Deputy Minister Enver Surty. Back row from left to right: The Financial wizards from left to right, Ms Gloria Maaka-Tlokana, Director: Development Support, Ms Gladis Modise, Director: Provincial Budget Monitoring, Ms Amelia Poolman, Deputy Director: Budgets, Mr Phillip Benadè, Chief Financial Officer, Ms Ntsetsa Molalekoa, Director: Financial Services, Mr Stefaan Sithole, Chairperson of the Department’s Audit Committee, Mr Theuns Tredoux, Chief Director: Financial Support Services and Ms Marieta du Toit, Director: Office of the CFO.
The SAIGA office bearers and the Department’s office bearers: Back row (standing) from left to right: Mr Khudu Bantseke (SAIGA Council member); Mr George Gorekwang (SAIGA Council member); Mr Lawrence Nevhutalu ((SAIGA Council member); Mr Phillip Benadé (CFO: Department of Education); Mr Stefaan Sithole (Chairperson of the Department’s Audit Committee); Prof Dieter Gloeck (Executive President – SAIGA and Chairperson of the Awards Committee), Mr Duncan Hindle (Accounting Officer - Department of Education) Front row (seated) from left to right: Ms Yvonne Yapi (SAIGA Council member), Ms Nadeli Pandor (Minister of Education); Mr Enver Surty (Deputy Minister of Education).
Proud recipients of the SAIGA Award trophy (and certificate) for the best Department in the Western Cape are Mr Floris Huysamer (CFO) and Marius van Aswegen (Manager Financial Accounting) from the Western Cape Department of Agriculture.
After the event the achievements were celebrated at an informal function.