Photo Gallery : 2010 Reporting Awards The 2010 Awards were won by the Mpumalanga Department of Finance. The Awards aim to heighten the awareness of the public to the huge advances that the public sector has made with regard to financial reporting. Winners receive a framed certificate and a trophy. The Department of Finance in Mpumalanga State received one Award for the best department in the Mpumalanga  Province and another Award for being the overall winner. All the role-players The winner’s certificates and trophies were handed over at a function in White River on the 12th of  November 2010. The main role-players during the Awards function: Front row from left to right: Mr. Mandla Mazibuko (Accounting Officer - Department of Finance), Mrs. Pinky Phosa (MEC for Finance), Prof. Dieter Gloeck (Executive President – SAIGA and Chairperson of the Awards Committee), Mr. Kingsley Chisale (Audit Committee Chairperson) Back row from left to right: Mr. Jabu Mashabane (Former Acting Chief Financial Officer), Mr. Abrie Adendorff (SAIGA Council Member), Mr. Raymond Potonas (Member of SAIGA’s EXCO and Council), Ms. Nontel Jaxa (Member of the Audit Committee) During the function, a number of role-players delivered speeches where the importance of team work was stressed, the major influence the PFMA has had on advancing accountability and the great effort that goes into preparing a set of financial statements and the long journey to a clean audit.
| HOME | CONTACT US | MISSION | COPYRIGHT | NPO Registration Number : 045-133-NPO| web design by DUMELANG MEDIA SERVICES |
The Master of Ceremony, Advocate Vulani Baloyi, led the ceremony with great skill and a welcome portion of humour.
Mr. Kingsley Chisale (Audit Committee Chairperson) gave a inspired lecture on the process of how annual financial statements are prepared and the many role-players involved.
The Executive President of the Southern African Institute of Government Auditors, Prof. Dieter Gloeck explained the background to the Awards, the criteria used and the meaning of the Awards in a South African context. He stressed the importance of accountability and transparency and praised departments which took the lead in the quest to advance accountability.
The MEC for Finance in Mpumalanga, Mrs. Pinky Phosa, replies to the speech of SAIGA’s Executive President. After the speeches, the Certificates and Awards were handed over to the various role-players.
The MEC for Finance in Mpumalanga, Mrs. Pinky Phosa, accepts the Awards from Prof Dieter Gloeck, SAIGA’s Executive President.
Mr. Mandla Mazibuko (Accounting Officer - Department of Finance) during his Vote of Thanks.
The MEC for Finance, Mrs. Pinky Phosa, and Mr. Raymond Potonas from SAIGA listen attentively to the speeches made.
The preparation of a clean set of annual financial statements is indeed a team effort.
Mr. Mandla Mazibuko (Accounting Officer - Department of Finance) is congratulated and presented with the winner’s certificate by Mr Raymond Potonas (Member of SAIGA’s EXCO and Council) for winning the Award for the best Mpumalanga Department. Mr. Abrie Adendorff (SAIGA Council member) hands the winner’s trophy to Mr Mazibuko.
After the formal proceedings, the audience was treated to lunch and could discuss the Awards in a relaxed atmosphere.